SPOKANE - The Bureau of Land Management has issued a fire restrictions order on public lands administered by the BLM and the Bureau of Reclamation in eastern Washington.

The order will take effect on June 22, 2019 at 12:01 a.m. in the following counties:

Adams, Asotin, Benton, Chelan, Columbia, Douglas, Ferry, Franklin, Garfield, Grant, Kittitas, Klickitat, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens, Walla Walla, Whitman, and Yakima.

BLM officials are asking people to tread cautiously when operating vehicles on roads or trails with vegetation due to the high fire risk. Fireworks and exploding targets are also banned. Campfires are allowed in certain places but the public is still asked to ensure any campfires are completely out and cold before leaving a campsite.

Under the order, exploding target shooters may be responsible for the cost of fire suppression. 

The fire restrictions order is attached to this article:


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.